Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services and Neech-ke-Wehn celebrates Indigenous Grade 8 Grads with annual award


As summer begins, Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services (OAHS) and Neech-ke-Wehn Homes are happy to celebrate Algoma’s Grade 8 graduates! The Neech-ke-Wehn Homes Grade 8 Award is an annual bursary of $100 given to Indigenous students graduating from elementary school in the Algoma area. Nominated by school faculty members, two awards of “Best Student” and “Most Improved Student” were submitted, and this year both Neech-ke-When and OAHS have allotted 23 students to receive the bursary this year.

The award began in the 1980s when the late Carolyn Harrington was a community worker at the Sault Ste. Marie Indigenous Friendship Centre. Carolyn Harrington was one of the founders of Neech-ke-Wehn Homes and was its President. The award has continued for over the past 40 years. As of 2023, the award will be renamed the Carolyn Harrington Award in her honour.

“This award is one with history and significance to our community and graduates. It is fitting that going forward, the award be named in her memory for the outstanding work she accomplished throughout her life,” says Thömas Kakapshe, Executive Director of Neech-ke-Wehn.

Congratulations go out to the following Algoma students in receiving this award:

Graison Wagner Smith, Northern Heights Public School, winner of Best Student Award
Northern Heights Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Graison Wagner Smith – Best Student
Ocean Martin – Most Improved Student

St. Basil’s Catholic Elementary School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Marshall Brown – Best Student
Makayla Robertson – Best Student
Abigail Agawa – Most Improved Student
Tiahna Agawa – Most Improved Student

H.M. Robbins Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Alysha Wiebe – Best Student
Jasmine Meekis – Most Improved Student

Holy Cross Catholic School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Talon West – Best Student
Justus Flamand – Most Improved Student

Ocean Martin, Northern Heights Public School, winner of Most Improved Student Award
Chapleau Public School (Chapleau)

Kiara Millen – Best Student
Dawson Neshawabin – Most Improved Student

Mountain View Public School (Goulais River)

Precious Waboose-Reedy – Most Improved Student

Blind River Public School (Blind River)

Ella Tulloch-Chiblow – Best Student
Ayasha Jacobs – Most Improved Student

Queen Elizabeth Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Brinley Belisle – Best Student
Sol Hayward – Most Improved Student

Korah Collegiate & Vocational School – Intermediate (Sault Ste. Marie)

Jackson Thorton – Most Improved Student

Jaeden Nippi-Friday, East View Public School, winner of Most Improved Student Award
East View Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Georgia Abel – Best Student
Jaeden Nippi-Friday – Most Improved Student

Tarentorous Public School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Daxton Billingsley – Best Student
Matthew Maurice – Most Improved Student

Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Elementary School (Sault Ste. Marie)

Vanessa Dube – Most Improved Student

Congratulations to all the Grade 8 graduates and we wish them the best of luck as they enter secondary school this fall!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here